Cwray's Blog


Karma’s Update
October 18, 2010, 11:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m sure you all remember my good friend Karma.  For those of you just joining us, Karma is a little boy who I named Karma (and have since called him that in class) who reminded me what a little…pain I must have been for my teachers.  He punched, he kicked, and he screamed which lead to me breaching my contract and disciplining him.

That has been a month ago and now Karma is…well still Karma.  He still roams wherever he wills, he knows which rules to push and which ones not to, and to the other teachers he is a problem child, but to me he is adorable.

When I enter the class now the first person I look for is Karma; I sort of look forward to seeing him now.  If you recall from my previous blog, Karma is intelligent.  He was the only one in his class to remember the colors I had taught previously, he understands what I am teaching almost immediately (his peers on the other hand cannot after an entire class), and he was one of the only one of my students (I teach K-4, Karma is in 1st grade) that knew I was from the United States, a fact that still boggles my mind.  But unfortunately for Karma, he is a bit…hyper.  He thrives on constant attention, he needs constant stimulation and if he does not receive it he will cause chaos and that is why he is has been labeled as a problem child.

This past class we were scheduled to go outside.  Students scurried for the door and I grabbed Karma’s hand: he was walking with me.  The students had just been given their snacks, some had finished, others had not.  Karma, being one of those who had not finished, decided to bring his snack with him and hide it in his coat.  Perhaps it was because I am constantly hungry, perhaps it was because I hid snacks in my pocket, or perhaps it was because when I caught Karma trying to get a cracker out his pocket he looked up at me with a sly smile, but I did not discipline him.  As we walked outside Karma would hold my hand with one of his and with the other he would reach for a cracker.  Even when he struggled to wrestle a piece out he never once let go of my hand to use two.  He continued to struggle occasionally looking up to smile.

The lesson of the day covered the topic of animals.  We learned the words dog, cat, and bird and given how well the game “duck, duck, goose” had gone previously I thought it would be fun to play a variation called “dog, cat, bird”.  In this version instead of tapping three students heads while saying “duck, duck, goose” I say “dog, cat, bird” while handing the three students pictures of the animal I named them.  The students the run around the circle, dog chasing cat, cat chasing bird, while making the associated noise of their animal.  The scene is quite amusing to watch and the students enjoyed it immensely.  Their enthusiasm grew when at the end of the game, I joined and have the students chase me, often times not around the circle, but around trees or any other obstacle I could find.  When it came to Karma’s turn to chase me I already knew what I would do.  I waited for him to get real close to me and then I scooped him up and with Karma in tote I ran around the circle.  I eventually set him down but by now he was laughing uncontrollably.

We arrived back to the classroom with five minutes remaining.  I had originally planned to review the animals one more time but everyone was hot after chasing after me.  I called Karma to the front and taught him the words hot, cold, and tired.  For cold, I shivered, for hot, I panted, and for tired, I fell to the desk and snored.  Karma and I then taught these words to the class and all the while I looked over and he was smiling.

So as you can see things for Karma and I are looking up.  He still has his moments and I’m sure they will continue, but I am not ready to write him off just yet.  Instead I see intelligence going unnoticed by others.  Karma has become a helper for me and I often use him to demonstrate new terms to the class.  He seems to enjoy his new role and will not sit down or wander until either I tell him to or fail to engage him.  Will this all make a difference?  I do not know, I can only hope that it will, that possibly his teacher can see that he needs to be engaged instead of ignored or that maybe years down the road Karma might remember that big goofy American that carried him around the circle and smile, I can only hope.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like the makings of a great teacher. Maybe you should consider this profession 🙂

Comment by Connie




Leave a Reply

